Be a Supporter!

CoopCoop

Main News Movies Games Audio Favorites Reviews Stats 67 Fans
Follow Coop

794 audio Reviews with Responses


Coop Has To Poop Coop Has To Poop

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 30, 2012

I've heard better.

A shame that you can't really hear the vocal samples clearly over the rest of the track, but that's the risk you run I suppose. Should I be flattered, upset or just downright dumbfounded that this appeared here? Since its been done before, I'll stick to flattered.

I guess that you could have gone on my audio submissions and sampled my vocals here, which would have made more sense, but this is a pretty average method of extracting revenge.

The beat is good, but the additional sounds that you added to it made the whole piece appear a little too close to dubstep for me to appreciate it properly. Still, the effort required here has been focused, due to your forum ban, since you're focusing the bile into one stream, rather than spreading it out over a wide area, so I guess that helped.

[Review Request Club]


People find this review helpful!
Insanctuary responds:

Haha, your vocals aren't good enough for my sexy atonal soundscapes. <3

Besides, I have other plans for you... something you would be able to relate to, I'm sure. I'm coming back with a vengeance. I and a few others know you've abused your mod powers over a frustrated disagreement.

However, I could, right now, go blam all of your projects, but you see, I'm a very mature figure and I do not abuse my privileges. Need I remind you that you joined in and took the privilege to discuss with me knowing very well what I am capable of doing in a discussion. Sure, I started it. I'm a man, so I can admit that. However, I only started the discussion because your argument was absolutely terrible.

So as the man I am, I am going to be nice to you and write up something that has two ad hominems and the rest is all objective conjecture.

Till then, I'm going to take the time to reCOOPerate.


Outlook Outlook

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 4, 2012

Good, except for the "stutters"

Don't get me wrong, the might of the classical genre has seen a generous nod toward it in this piece, where you have tried to meld it with more modern styles, which is acceptable, as it has been done before, though personally, I would not have gone with the stutters - it makes it sound like the track is buffering and I know that my internet connection is not that slow.

You've made a nice start with the basic classical sound and I think that I would like to hear it taken further, perhaps developed into something more than just a string backing track - perhaps combine it with synths, to give a different sound, but suitable modernised, to take it forward. I just think that while your idea is good, the execution alienates purists more than other tactics would.

It's something to consider at least.

[Review Request Club]


People find this review helpful!
lnitroburstl responds:

Much appreciated man.


Concept X Concept X

Rated 3 / 5 stars August 13, 2012

Why the silence? We can hack 10-15 seconds off the intro and lose nothing at all. My speakers aren't that bad and I heard NOTHING for that start. Throwing more at the piece there would help, or throw it in the deep end from sooner.

After that, the track is quite repetitive, without much merit in variation at all. Sure, you use a few flourishes that give some flair to the piece, but the melody gets boring far too quickly, even for a trance / dance / house piece. You've got to be more out there, in order to grab the audience's attention and this lacks that, with a single instrumental melody, which needs something to give it a boost to the next level.

Vary the pace, the instruments, the bass, hell, give us an instrumental or some vocal samples to bust the track out of this funk. It desperately needs to be shoved forward.

[Review Request Club]


People find this review helpful!
ForeverBound responds:

I really appreciate your review. Thanks
And i'm gonna work on that ;)


Aqua Boom Aqua Boom

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 16, 2012

Super Mario gets wet!

Well, this piece certainly sounds very SMB, before we get into the vaguely watery sound effects that you've added to this piece. If you're to get better with this piece, turn the bass down a little, as it drowns out the happy sounding counter melody, which I really had to strain to hear. The flutes aren't loud enough to be heard over the top of it all, which is a shame, as you've put a lot of effort in there, for no gain.

As far as the track itself sounds, you could use this in a variety of games and not just SMB covers / parodies. With the way that you've distributed the electronica and the "wet" sounds, you could be forgiven for thinking that it's not wet enough, as you should never play with a live plug, with wet hands, so something splits the track for me, if only on a subconscious level.

A few more tweaks required to get into the "aqua" sound, or just change the name up...

[Review Request Club]


People find this review helpful!
ErikKaufman responds:

My english don't let me respond to this review fully, but I appreciate your opinion, and I'll consider it, when I'll make new tune. Thanks dude!


C23~Light 16 C23~Light 16

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 3, 2012

"Video Game" is a bit of a vague genre of this piece - I think that you'd have been better off with Drum & Bass, or something along similar lines to get this piece published to.

A very powerful, if fast paced piano, interspersed with other instruments and one hellish bass beat, which rams home the track in its entirety. Given that this piece is over 4 minutes long, you've managed to fit a hell of a lot of music into those 4 minutes, with the bpm through the roof and the various piece that you've woven into the mix here.

I think that some sort of higher pitched and even a slower tempo solo on the piano would be a nice change, somewhere in the middle. It gives people a chance to catch their breath, before the bass comes back in and kicks the walls down once more. Something to think about.

[Review Request Club]


People find this review helpful!
Chrausner responds:

Hmmm...now that I think of it, this doesn't include many Video-Game elements, and includes more Drum & Bass. Tnx for the heads-up.

I'll have to work on tempo, it appears. Pitch and tempo change were the harest things for me to do.

Thanks for the review.


[Ezekiel] [Ezekiel]

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 26, 2012

Well balanced, but could use more variation...

I feel that this is a good track - like you say, it's not bad at all for an hour's work. It starts off well enough, building up from a synth loop and bass beat to something a little more, from a few more effects being added in for good measure. I think that along that line with the intro / opening salvos, you could have added in slightly more in the way of instrumental variation. The bass is powerful, but not spectacular and the synths do nothing to make me feel that this is anything other than the rest of the techno herd, blindly following the others.

Really good techno pushes the boundaries and gets confused with the other similar genres - trance, house, garage, drum & bass, for example. Nothing here seems to come close to those and as a result, something is lost within. The outro, with the high pitched xylophone was fantastic, but merely too little, too late.

[Review Request Club]


People find this review helpful!
alienchao responds:

Thanks. I can see what you mean about pushing the boundaries and variation; I'll keep that in mind for future stuff. Also, I'm glad you like the outro. I too thought that was the best part of the song.


Sun Down (Zx Dubstep) Sun Down (Zx Dubstep)

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars June 18, 2012

Dominated by the overtones..

The whole track is overrun by this sound, which overflows and drowns out the rest of the track. As a result, you're losing marks, as the melody doesn't get much of a chance to come through, while the rest of the piece does get to make a few marks, but they don't give you as much impact.

Given that the sound of the piece as a whole is good overall, you do come out of this quite well, but then we consider that it could be so much more, if that overtone in itself was reduced in volume and presence, just to give the rest of the track a chance, it would sound so much better, with little additional effort.

[Review Request Club]


People find this review helpful!
ZxOOxZ responds:

IâEUTMm assuming your talking about the bass wub, the high synths need to be clearer, and this is a redone version of my original which is on my other profile -.- long story.... http://soundcloud.com/zxooxz/sun-down


~SW~ Dreamland Chronicles ~SW~ Dreamland Chronicles

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 15, 2012

Great ambience.

Wow, I love the way that this piece grows and gives fruit to the imagery of my imagination. The bassline, that has little branches of melody growing off it, in the form of percussion and woodwind melody in the early going. Then you move on and get into a faster paced part, as a horse gallops past the tree, suddenly quickening the pace and taking us elsewhere - some sort of Indian Jungle, or perhaps an Arabian Bazaar, for example. Then we are off again, galloping across the landscape, with a sense of renewed urgency. Suddenly, we find ourselves back at the tree of the intro, continuing that journey, through day and night. From this one tree, others grow around it, making an oasis, perhaps even a forest, all from that one source.

I think that the piece should be classified under Ambient, as opposed to Miscellaneous. That's just how it sounds to me. The other change I would have made is not to use the dubstep "stutter" sound in the piece, as that just doesn't seem right in such a piece as this. Almost as if it is too big for my computer to cope with and the track has not downloaded enough, so it stumbles.

[Review Request Club]


People find this review helpful!
SkyeWint responds:

Hey, Coop!

I am glad you like the song! :D That imagery you described... that was really what you thought of? Coooooool, man. Sounds like it was fun to be you while you were listening.
As you probably noticed in the description, I spent an entire month working on this, polishing and fiddling with everything to make sure it's just right. It was a pain, believe me.

Now, the stutter you're talking about - I know about it. It's not the actual song, but an issue with the NG audio player. Several possibilities about why this is happening. 1. It actually hasn't loaded enough (unlikely). 2. You're opening/closing new tabs and/or windows in the same web browser you're using to listen. Not sure if it also happens from external applications.

If you download and listen to it, or aren't surfing the 'net while listening from here, you should be fine! :D

...And the main reason I didn't submit this under ambient was the big orchestral section in the middle. It's also slightly less ambient afterwards, so...

Thanks for the review!


Glitch practice Glitch practice

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars June 14, 2012

Not bad.

I like the way that this sounds, with a few of the sounds, though some of them could be seen to be just a little too much (28 seconds in, that one seemed a little long, for effect). Overall, the master volume could use another shot in the arm, to bring that up a little more - it's too quiet.

You progressed with a nice form and while this gets repetitive after a few play-throughs, it could stand to take a bit more variation from you over all of this. Perhaps come up with some sort of solo for the melody, to give it more of a differential influence over the track, rather than sounding like a train runs (on the tracks, between pre-defined points)

[Review Request Club]


Yoshiii343 responds:

Hmm...I see. Mixing is still a bit of a problem for me. Maybe I should try to remake this into a full song with more instruments added, some time or another.


C23~Blue 15 C23~Blue 15

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 14, 2012

Interesting sounding.

I like the imagery that I get for this. Very sci-fi, with notes of either WipEout racing, or some sort of large, lumbering spacecraft being prepared for launch into the cosmos (Starcraft?) It's certainly something that makes me want to see it presented as a part of either a game, or a movie sequence, to really see the interpretation of an artist or two, to see if their ideas match my own.

From the classical sound of the piano, to start, this piece blends nicely into the futuristic sounds, slowly overwhelming the piano and practically drowning it out. I think that you could stand to tone down the drum & bass a little, to give the piano more of a role in the piece, all told.

A nice use of sound effects through the piece gives a few more avenues potentially worth exploration, for expansion purposes. Certainly something that I have come to enjoy, despite not being all that overawed the first time I listened to it.

[Review Request Club]


People find this review helpful!
Chrausner responds:

Thanks for the review. I can imagine the piano being used more, and that would be a better thing.